Don’t drive on the highway with minors on hood or fender of your car....
Follow Insurify for more financial tips and tricks
Everyone’s heard those weird, utterly unbelievable laws that are, well, actual laws. Certain states have some quirky facts unique to them, and all of them are entertaining to laugh at. However, as funny and ludicrous as some may sound, they are valid laws that should be observed. Some of these “silly” restrictions can cost you as they often result in a ticket. Although the ticket might not be too pricey at times and extravagant at others, any type of ticket may very well result in an increase in your car insurance premium for years, something nobody wants.
Here are just a few of the more absurd laws that exist and are ones to look out for:
- Don’t leave your car door open while parked on the side of the road.
Punishment: $90 ticket
- Do use your headlights when driving in the rain, foggy conditions, and between half an hour after sunset and half an hour before sunrise.
Punishment: $5 ticket
- Don’t screech your tires.
Where: Derby, Kanses
Punishment: $500 fine or 30 days in jail
- Don’t have any distractions on your dashboard, hanging off your rear view mirror, or in front of the windshield.
Where: New Jersey
Punishment: $54 fine
- Don’t drive on the highway with minors on hood or fender of your car.
Punishment: None as long as you are traveling between hunting sites during deer season and the unrestrained minor(s) in the back of your truck have hunting license(s).
- Don’t drive with your pet on your lap in the front seat, in the open bed of a truck, or partially out the window.
Where: New Jersey
Punishment: $250 - 1,000 fine ...unless the open area in the back of your truck is enclosed or if the dog is secured.
- Don’t drive with snow on your roof.
Where: New Jersey + Connecticut + Pennsylvania + New Hampshire, + Massachusetts
Punishment: $75 - 500 depending on the State
- Do remove snow and ice from the car so as to prevent ice from breaking off of your moving car and causing damage.
Where: Connecticut + Pennsylvania
Punishment: $200 - 1,250 (CT) + $200 - 1,000 (PA)
- *Don’t drive a red car on Lake Street at any time.
Where: Minneapolis, Minnesota
- *Do have your horse, cow, or goat inspected prior to leaving the state by the Livestock Board for certification.
Where: New Mexico
- *Do always stop for cows and don’t drive through or around them as they always have the right of way.
Where: Wisconsin + Connecticut
While these are all laughable, they’re just the tip of the iceberg. You can look up all the weird, crazy driving laws in your State online and be aware of them so you don’t end up with a ticket and a raise you don’t want to happen.
* = No specific punishment found but not legally allowed in the State listed